Phonic Books: Rescue Book Series


46 in stock (can be backordered)


What are Catch-up Readers?

Catch-up readers are decodable, systematic phonic reading books for older readers

Interest Age: 8 to 14+


80% of struggling readers have a gap in phonics knowledge. Phonics books fill in these missing gaps. They are designed for older students who may have already experienced reading failure. Since many of these students also experience loss of confidence and low self-esteem, Phonics Books develop confident, independent reading strategies.


Included in each series:

    • Systematic (sequenced) phonic progression
    • Age-appropriate illustrations and story lines
    • Reading practice page which prepares the student for reading the text
    • Vocabulary page to develop receptive and expressive language
    • Reader-friendly layout

Each of the series engage students in action-packed stories, while introducing step-by-step decodable phonics skills. Each series is supported by a photocopiable workbook (sold separately) that provides a variety of skill based activities.



To view the PhonicBooks Scope & Sequence, click the photo below


Rescue Book Series

Written by Clair Baker and Illustrated by Drew Wilson

When disaster strikes, Erin and her best friend Danny embark on an epic adventure to save baby brother Jack.



This series shares the same phonic progression as both the Talisman 1 and Island Adventure Series and can be used in parallel.  Rescue is a 10 book series aimed towards helping older students learn to read and spell the difficult alternative spellings for the vowel sounds. Starting with the sound ‘ae’, each of the 10 books introduces one phoneme and its alternative spellings. Featuring a female heroine, the books will appeal to both boys and girls alike. This action-packed series features one continuous story when read in sequence, with the conclusion in the final book.


Subject/Genre: Adventure/Fantasy

Ages: 8-14

Interest Level: Grades 2-8

Books: 10 Decodable Books Sold Together as a Complete Series


Phonic/Spelling Skills Taught

  • Book 1: ae, ay, ai, a, a-e, ea, ey
  • Book 2: ee, ea, y, e, ie, e-e, ei
  • Book 3: ow, oa, o, oe, o-e
  • Book 4: er, ir, ur, or, ear
  • Book 5: ow, ou & oi, oy
  • Book 6: oo, ue, u-e, ew, ou, u
  • Book 7: igh, ie, i-e, i, y
  • Book 8: aw, awe, a, au, al, ough
  • Book 9: air, are, ear, ere, eir
  • Book 10: ar



Rescue Workbook (Sold Separately)

Catch-up reader workbooks are integral to the reading program as they include activities to support the learner. 

This 174 page, photocopiable workbook has 10 chapters of activities designed for older students, ages 8-14. This workbook corresponds directly to the 10 books in the Rescue series, and includes activities for reading, spelling, and comprehension based on the characters and adventures in the books.



For help deciding which series to begin with, click the photo below for an assessment.


Additional information

Weight 2.0 lbs
Dimensions 7 × 5 × 3 in


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Phonic Books: Rescue Book Series”

You may also like…