Phonic Books: Magic Belt Book Series

Original price was: $79.00.Current price is: $62.99.

39 in stock (can be backordered)

What are Catch-up Readers?

Catch-up readers are decodable, systematic phonic reading books for older readers

Interest Age: 8 to 14+

80% of struggling readers have a gap in phonics knowledge. Phonics books fill in these missing gaps. They are designed for older students who may have already experienced reading failure. Since many of these students also experience loss of confidence and low self-esteem, Phonics Books develop confident, independent reading strategies.

Included in each series:

    • Systematic (sequenced) phonic progression
    • Age-appropriate illustrations and story lines
    • Reading practice page which prepares the student for reading the text
    • Vocabulary page to develop receptive and expressive language
    • Reader-friendly layout

Each of the series engage students in action-packed stories, while introducing step-by-step decodable phonics skills. Each series is supported by a photocopiable workbook (sold separately) that provides a variety of skill based activities.

To view the PhonicBooks Scope & Sequence, click the photo below

Magic Belt Book Series

Written by Tami Reis-Frankfort and Illustrated by Drew Wilson

Zak goes on a journey to find 10 magical gems to help cure his ill grandfather.

This series shares the same phonic progression as the That Dog! Series and can be used in parallel. Magic Belt is a 12 book series, which takes students from CVC and CVCC word level text, and continues to build reading skills in a step-by step phonic progression.  This action-packed journey will appeal to older readers who struggle with reading and would benefit from a beginning phonics program.  This series features one continuous story when read in sequence, with the conclusion in the final book.

Subject/Genre: Adventure/Fantasy

Ages: 8-14

Books: 12 Decodable Books Sold Together as a Complete Series

Phonic Skills Taught

  • Book 1: CVC, CVCC
  • Book 2: CVCC
  • Book 3: CVCC
  • Book 4: CVCC, -ed
  • Book 5: CCVCC
  • Book 6: ‘ch’, ‘tch’
  • Book 7: ‘sh’
  • Book 8: < th >
  • Book 9: <ck >, < qu >
  • Book 10: < ng >
  • Book 11: < wh >, -ing
  • Book 12: < le >
Canada customers please note:


All international shipments sent by PDX Reading Specialist, LLC, are sent DDU “Delivery Duty Unpaid”. International shipments may be subject to local duties, taxes (HST, VAT, etc.) and fees (such as brokerage fees). Shipping prices obtained through quotes or during the checkout process from our website do not include these duties, taxes, or fees. You, the receiver, may be contacted by customs or the carrier once the shipments arrives. It is the customer’s responsibility to settle any charges to release the shipment. If a shipment is declined and returned to us (the sender) due to the failure to contact or pay duties, taxes and fees, the shipping fees originally paid to PDX Reading Specialist will not be eligible for a refund. No refunds will be applied until goods arrive back to us. Only goods that arrive back to us in the condition in which they were sent will be eligible for a refund (minus the shipping fees). Additionally, international shipments can take time to clear customs (up to 45 days) once they reach their destination country.

Magic Belt Workbook (Sold Separately)

Catch-up reader workbooks are integral to the reading program as they include activities to support the learner. 

This 190 page, photocopiable workbook has 12 chapters of activities designed for older students, ages 8-14, who already know the sounds of the alphabet and can read simple CVC words. This workbook corresponds directly to the 12 books in the Magic Belt series. This workbook follows the same phonic progression as the Magic Belt book series and includes activities for word building, blending, segmenting, comprehension, and vocabulary.

For help deciding which series to begin with, click the photo below for an assessment.

Original price was: $79.00.Current price is: $62.99.

39 in stock (can be backordered)