Phonic Books: Island Adventure Book Series


42 in stock (can be backordered)



What are Catch-up Readers?

Catch-up readers are decodable, systematic phonic reading books for older readers

Interest Age: 8 to 14+


80% of struggling readers have a gap in phonics knowledge. Phonics books fill in these missing gaps. They are designed for older students who may have already experienced reading failure. Since many of these students also experience loss of confidence and low self-esteem, Phonics Books develop confident, independent reading strategies.


Included in each series:

    • Systematic (sequenced) phonic progression
    • Age-appropriate illustrations and story lines
    • Reading practice page which prepares the student for reading the text
    • Vocabulary page to develop receptive and expressive language
    • Reader-friendly layout

Each of the series engage students in action-packed stories, while introducing step-by-step decodable phonics skills. Each series is supported by a photocopiable workbook (sold separately) that provides a variety of skill based activities.



To view the PhonicBooks Scope & Sequence, click the photo below


Island Adventure Book Series


Written by Clair Baker and Illustrated by Drew Wilson

Jack and his little sister, Snub, are visiting Gran and Grandpa on the remote Scottish Island where they live.  An accident brings them closer together, but a subsequent event starts an exciting adventure, changing all their lives forever.



This series shares the same phonic progression as both the Rescue and Talisman 1 Series and can be used in parallel.  Island Adventure is a 10 book series aimed towards helping older students learn to read and spell the difficult alternative spellings for the vowel sounds. Starting with the sound ‘ae’, each of the 10 books introduces one phoneme and its alternative spellings. With both male and female characters, the Island Adventure series is sure to appeal to boys and girls alike. This action-packed series features one continuous story when read in sequence, with the conclusion in the final book.


Subject/Genre: Adventure

Ages: 8-14

Interest Level: Grades 2-8

Books: 10 Decodable Books Sold Together as a Complete Series


Phonic/Spelling Skills Taught

  • Book 1: ae, ay, ai, a, a-e, ea, ey
  • Book 2: ee, ea, y, e, ie, e-e, ei
  • Book 3: ow, oa, o, oe, o-e
  • Book 4: er, ir, ur, or, ear
  • Book 5: ow, ou & oi, oy
  • Book 6: oo, ue, u-e, ew, ou, u
  • Book 7: igh, ie, i-e, i, y
  • Book 8: aw, awe, a, au, al, ough
  • Book 9: air, are, ear, ere, eir
  • Book 10: ar


Island Adventure Workbook (Sold Separately)

Catch-up reader workbooks are integral to the reading program as they include activities to support the learner.


This photocopiable workbook has 10 chapters of activities designed for older students, ages 8-14. This workbook corresponds directly to the 10 books in the Island Adventure book series, and includes activities for reading, spelling, and comprehension based on the characters and adventures in the Island Adventure series.






For help deciding which series to begin with, click the photo below for an assessment.


Additional information

Weight 2.0 lbs
Dimensions 7 × 5 × 1 in


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Phonic Books: Island Adventure Book Series”

You may also like…