Phonic Books: Totem Book Series


34 in stock (can be backordered)

Buy Together and Save 10%
This item: Phonic Books: Totem Book Series

34 in stock (can be backordered)

Phonic Books: Totem Workbook

9 in stock (can be backordered)

Phonic Books: Talisman Cards (Boxes 1-10)

14 in stock (can be backordered)

Phonic Books: Talisman Cards (Boxes 11-20)

12 in stock (can be backordered)




To help decide which series to begin with, click the link below for an assessment.


What are Catch-up Readers?

Catch-up readers are decodable, systematic phonic reading books for older readers

Interest Age: 8 to 14+


80% of struggling readers have a gap in phonics knowledge. Phonics books fill in these missing gaps. They are designed for older students who may have already experienced reading failure. Since many of these students also experience loss of confidence and low self-esteem, Phonics Books develop confident, independent reading strategies.

Included in each series:

  • Systematic (sequenced) phonic progression
  • Age-appropriate illustrations and story lines
  • Reading practice page which prepares the student for reading the text
  • Vocabulary page to develop receptive and expressive language
  • Reader-friendly layout

Each of the series engage students in action-packed stories, while introducing step-by-step decodable phonics skills. Each series is supported by a photocopiable workbook (sold separately) that provides a variety of skill based activities.


Totem Book Series

Written by Tami Reis-Frankfort and Illustrated by Drew Wilson

After being kidnapped by two men, Zak’s adventure begins, as his staff acquires special powers.

This series shares the same phonic progression as the Alba Series and can be used in parallel. Totem is a 12 book series, taking students from CVC and CVCC word level text, and progressing through adjacent consonants, consonant digraphs, and alternative vowel spellings.  This adventure will appeal to older readers who struggle with reading and would benefit from a beginning phonics program.  This series features one continuous story when read in sequence, with the conclusion in the final book.

Subject/Genre: Adventure/Fantasy

Ages: 8-14

Interest Level: Grades 2-8

Books: 12 Decodable Books Sold Together as a Complete Series


Phonic Skills Taught

  • Book 1: CVC, CVCC
  • Book 2: CVC, CVCC, CCVC
  • Book 3: CVC, CVCC, CCVC, CCVCC
  • Book 4: ‘sh’, ‘ch’, ‘th’
  • Book 5: ‘ck’, ‘ng’, ‘qu’, ‘wh’, ‘le’, -ed
  • Book 6: ‘ae’ (ai, ay, a-e, a)
  • Book 7: ‘ee’ (ee, ea, e, y, ey)
  • Book 8: ‘oe’ (o-e, ow, oa, o)
  • Book 9: ‘er’ (er, ir, ur)
  • Book 10: ‘ow’ (ow, ou)
  • Book 11: ‘ie’ (igh, i-e, y, i)
  • Book 12: ‘oo’ (oo, ew, u-e, u)

Totem Series Workbook (sold separately)

Catch-up reader workbooks are integral to the reading program as they include activities to support the learner. 

This 224 page, photocopiable workbook has 12 chapters of activities designed for older students, ages 8-14, who already know the sounds of the alphabet and can read simple CVC words. This workbook corresponds directly to the 12 books in the Totem series, and includes activities for word building, blending, segmenting, comprehension, and vocabulary based on the characters and adventures in the Totem series.


Talisman Cards (sold separately)

Talisman Cards are two collections of 10 beautifully illustrated playing card decks that offer students an exciting and fast-paced game that provides students with plenty of practice to sharpen their phonic skills. Starting at the CVC word level, the decks introduce consonant digraphs and alternative spellings for vowel sounds. Each card deck corresponds to a phonics lesson contained in the phonics reading book series.

Although titled Talisman Cards, these cards are designed to be used in conjunction with all Phonics Books reading series.


Additional information

Weight 2.0 lbs
Dimensions 8 × 6 × 4 in


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Phonic Books: Totem Book Series”

You may also like…