Phonic Books: Titan’s Gauntlets Book Series


35 in stock (can be backordered)


What are Catch-up Readers?

Catch-up readers are decodable, systematic phonic reading books for older readers

Interest Age: 8 to 14+


80% of struggling readers have a gap in phonics knowledge. Phonics books fill in these missing gaps. They are designed for older students who may have already experienced reading failure. Since many of these students also experience loss of confidence and low self-esteem, Phonics Books develop confident, independent reading strategies.


Included in each series:

    • Systematic (sequenced) phonic progression
    • Age-appropriate illustrations and story lines
    • Reading practice page which prepares the student for reading the text
    • Vocabulary page to develop receptive and expressive language
    • Reader-friendly layout

Each of the series engage students in action-packed stories, while introducing step-by-step decodable phonics skills. Each series is supported by a photocopiable workbook (sold separately) that provides a variety of skill based activities.



To view the PhonicBooks Scope & Sequence, click the photo below


Titan’s Gauntlets Book Series


Written by Adam Frankfort & Clair Baker and Illustrated by Drew Wilson

Finn has been chosen to stop the evil Winged One from destroying the world.




Titan’s Gauntlets is a gripping quest story. This set of ten books introduces further alternative vowel and consonant spellings, and common Latin suffixes.

Subject/Genre: Adventure/Fantasy

Ages: 8-14

Interest Level: Grades 2-8

Books: 10 Decodable Books Sold Together as a Complete Series

Phonic/Spelling Skills Taught:

  • Book 1: ‘ue’: u, ue, u-e
  • Book 2: ‘u’: u, o, ou
  • Book 3: ‘s’: s, ss, se, c, ce
  • Book 4: ‘l’: l, ll, le, al
  • Book 5:‘j’: j, g, ge
  • Book 6: ‘f’: f, ff, ph
  • Book 7: ‘cher’: ture
  • Book 8: ‘shun’: tion
  • Book 9: ‘shul’: cial, tial
  • Book 10: ‘zhun’: sion


Titan’s Gauntlets Workbook (Sold Separately)

Catch-up reader workbooks are integral to the reading program as they include activities to support the learner. 

The 187 page, Titan’s Gauntlets photocopiable workbook has 10 chapters of activities designed for older students, ages 8-14. This workbook corresponds directly to the 10 books in the Titan’s Gauntlets reading series and includes reading, writing, spelling and comprehension activities based on the characters and adventures in the books





For help deciding which series to begin with, click the photo below for an assessment.

Additional information

Weight 2.0 lbs
Dimensions 7 × 5 × 3 in


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Phonic Books: Titan’s Gauntlets Book Series”

You may also like…