Phonic Books: That Dog! Book Series


91 in stock (can be backordered)



What are Catch-up Readers?

Catch-up readers are decodable, systematic phonic reading books for older readers

Interest Age: 8 to 14+


80% of struggling readers have a gap in phonics knowledge. Phonics books fill in these missing gaps. They are designed for older students who may have already experienced reading failure. Since many of these students also experience loss of confidence and low self-esteem, Phonics Books develop confident, independent reading strategies.


Included in each series:

    • Systematic (sequenced) phonic progression
    • Age-appropriate illustrations and story lines
    • Reading practice page which prepares the student for reading the text
    • Vocabulary page to develop receptive and expressive language
    • Reader-friendly layout

Each of the series engage students in action-packed stories, while introducing step-by-step decodable phonics skills. Each series is supported by a photocopiable workbook (sold separately) that provides a variety of skill based activities.



To view the PhonicBooks Scope & Sequence, click the photo below


That Dog! Book Series

Written by Tami Reis-Frankfort and Illustrated by Drew Wilson

Ben is an animal loving teenager and has always wanted a dog.  Will he get to keep the scruffy stray dog that followed him home?



This series shares the same phonic progression as the Magic Belt Series and can be used in parallel.  That Dog is a 12 book series, which takes students from CVC and CVCC word level text, and continues to build reading skills in a step-by step phonic progression.  This action-packed journey will appeal to older readers who struggle with reading and would benefit from a beginning phonics program.  This series features one continuous story when read in sequence, with the conclusion in the final book.

Subject/Genre: Adventure

Ages: 8-14

Books: 12 Decodable Books Sold Together as a Complete Series


Phonic Skills Taught

  • Book 1: CVC, CVCC
  • Book 2: CVCC
  • Book 3: CVCC
  • Book 4: CVCC, -ed
  • Book 5: CCVCC
  • Book 6: ‘ch’, ‘tch’
  • Book 7: ‘sh’
  • Book 8: ‘th’
  • Book 9: ‘ck’, ‘qu’
  • Book 10: ‘ng’
  • Book 11: ‘wh’, -ing
  • Book 12: ‘le’

That Dog! Workbook (Sold Separately)


Catch-up reader workbooks are integral to the reading program as they include activities to support the learner. 



This 225 page, photocopiable workbook has 12 chapters of activities designed for older students, ages 8-14, who already know the sounds of the alphabet and can read simple CVC words. This workbook corresponds directly to the 12 books in the That Dog series. This workbook follows the same phonic progression as the That Dog book series and includes activities for word building, blending, segmenting, comprehension, and spelling.


For help deciding which series to begin with, click the photo below for an assessment.

Additional information

Weight 2.0 lbs
Dimensions 8 × 6 × 4 in


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Phonic Books: That Dog! Book Series”

You may also like…