Phonic Books: Moon Dogs Book Series – Set 1


131 in stock (can be backordered)

SKU: USMD1 Categories: , ,



What are Catch-up Readers?

Catch-up readers are decodable, systematic phonic reading books for older readers

Interest Age: 8 to 14+


80% of struggling readers have a gap in phonics knowledge. Phonics books fill in these missing gaps. They are designed for older students who may have already experienced reading failure. Since many of these students also experience loss of confidence and low self-esteem, Phonics Books develop confident, independent reading strategies.


Included in each series:

    • Systematic (sequenced) phonic progression
    • Age-appropriate illustrations and story lines
    • Reading practice page which prepares the student for reading the text
    • Vocabulary page to develop receptive and expressive language
    • Reader-friendly layout

Each of the series engage students in action-packed stories, while introducing step-by-step decodable phonics skills. Each series is supported by a photocopiable workbook (sold separately) that provides a variety of skill based activities.



To view the PhonicBooks Scope & Sequence, click the photo below

Moon Dogs Book Series – Set 1

Written by Tami Reis-Frankfort & Clair Baker and Illustrated by Asha & Drew Wilson

A humorous three set series following a group of teenage friends who are in the Moon Dog band. 


The Moon Dogs Series (set 1) is an 8 book set, designed to appeal to older, struggling readers at the early stages of reading.  With both male and female characters, the Moon Dog series will appeal to boys and girls alike.  Set 1 gradually introduces and reinforces the initial sounds of the alphabet in CVC words.  All words in the books are at CVC level with one line of text per page. Skills are developed through step-by-step progression, allowing practice at each level.

Subject/Genre: Adventure

Ages: 8-14

Books: 8 Decodable Books Sold Together as a Complete Series


Phonic Skills Taught

  • Book 1: s, a, t, i, m
  • Book 2: n, o, p
  • Book 3: b, c, g, h
  • Book 4: d, e, f, v
  • Book 5: k, l, r, u
  • Book 6: j, w, z
  • Book 7: x, y, ff, ll, ss, zz
  • Book 8: All initial sounds CVC


Moon Dogs – Set 1 Workbook (Sold Separately)

Catch-up reader workbooks are integral to the reading program as they include activities to support the learner.

This 100 page, photocopiable workbook has 8 chapters of activities designed for older students, ages 8-14, who are beginner readers. This workbook corresponds directly to the 8 books in the Moon Dogs Set 1 reading series, and offers practice reading at CVC level, while introducing initial sounds gradually.  Activities include word building, reading, spelling and comprehension, and are based on the characters and adventures in the Moon Dogs series.

For help deciding which series to begin with, click the photo below for an assessment.


Additional information

Weight 2.0 lbs
Dimensions 8.5 × 6 × 1 in


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Phonic Books: Moon Dogs Book Series – Set 1”

You may also like…